MISSOURI ACTION STEPS:

After being held in limbo for nearly 4 months by Speaker Diehl, Missouri HB264, a bill that would deny much-needed material support and compliance to NSA warrantless spying operations, has been assigned to the House Emerging Issues Committee. While this committee isn't likely against the bill, it's likely that it was sent there because the chair is not known to be a strong supporter of it. Strategically, it's possible that Diehl did so to ensure that the bill will never move quickly enough to pass before the session ends.  Only with strong grassroots support will the bill have a chance to pass.

1. Call the committee chair. Be firm, but professional.  Call and urge him to move the bill forward in his committee and to vote YES to send it to the House floor.

Elijah Haahr 573-751-2210 Elijah.Haahr@house.mo.gov

2. Call the rest of the committee members. Strongly, but respectfully, urge each of them to vote YES on HB264.

Gary L. Cross 573-751-1459 Gary.Cross@house.mo.gov
Jack Bondon 573-751-2175 Jack.Bondon@house.mo.gov
Mike Colona 573-751-6736 Mike.Colona@house.mo.gov
Jim Hansen 573-751-4028 Jim.Hansen@house.mo.gov
Ron Hicks 573-751-1470 Ron.Hicks@house.mo.gov
Jeremy LaFaver 573-751-2437 Jeremy.LaFaver@house.mo.gov
Bill Lant 573-751-9801 Bill.Lant@house.mo.gov
Dave Muntzel 573-751-0169 Dave.Muntzel@house.mo.gov
Sharon Pace 573-751-4726 Sharon.Pace@house.mo.gov
Caleb Rowden 573-751-1169 Caleb.Rowden@house.mo.gov
Anne Zerr 573-751-3717 Anne.Zerr@house.mo.gov

3. Call your state representative. Strongly, but respectfully urge them to cosponsor and support HB264. A phone call has 10x the impact of an email, so make sure to take a few minutes to call.

Find your legislators' information here: http://openstates.org/find_your_legislator

4. Call Back – any NO or UNDECIDED – in 3-4 days. Make sure to follow-up. If they say YES, be sure to thank them and, if possible, announce their committed YES vote to email and social media contacts. If they say no, politely ask them why. Get the information from them and contact us.

5. Spread the Word. Share this information widely by facebook, twitter, email and other social networks.

6. Report Back. Tell us how your actions went by emailing info@offnow.org

7. Donate. We cannot succeed without your help - and without the financial resources to get things done. We accept no government grants, and have no corporate backers. In fact, those who lobby most aggressively against our work are government organizations (like law enforcement groups) and corporate interest groups (like a local chamber of commerce)

Please chip in here:  http://offnow.org/donate

Or by Bitcoin: 

1CpggJUX3cpsqqUyEjCvjfgrNYt7sDerwZ


With a 75 percent YES vote, Missourians approved Amendment 9 in 2014 giving “electronic data and communications” the same state constitutional protections as “persons, homes, papers and effects.” This eliminates any constitutional ambiguity surrounding electronic data and specifically bars state agencies from accessing it without a warrant in most cases.